Creepy Angela Food

Back in my college days, I used to love cooking for myself, and sometimes when my roommates were feeling adventurous, they would let me  cook for them too.  The reason why I named this blog “Creepy Angela Food” is because that’s what everyone used to call my dishes when I cooked for myself. There are many reasons why this is so, mostly because what I made had some sort of Korean or Asian twist to it, or because I am a weird person and like turning regular food into healthy food, for example, I like to make spaghetti squash with marinara and veggies, just like you would pasta, but the noodles are all vegetables and filled with Vitamin C and fiber! Another example is my butternut squash fries, thanks to hungrygirl.com they taste just as good as french fries but they are made of squash and are baked!

So don’t you worry, I will post some more Creepy Angela Dishes as the time comes, and I will even make its own Category! For now, here is Dish numero uno of my creepy food 🙂 

Salmon with a Sweet and Spicy Sauce, Roasted Broccoli and White Rice

What you will need:

Two peices of Salmon, skinned and boneless

Long Grain White Rice

Ricemaker (if you don’t have one, you can always buy the microwavable or stove top kind)

One bunch of Broccoli, cut into “trees” 

Extra Virgin Olive Oil (EVOO)

1 tbsp Oyster Sauce (I like to use KAME brand)

1 tbsp Sweet Chili Sauce (I use Maggi brand)

1 tbsp Agave Nectar, Amber (I use Madhava brand)

1 tsp Ground Ginger

Aluminum Foil

Rice Seasoning, Will  be hard to find unless you go to a Korean or World Market type store (this seasoning has a mixture of seaweed, sesame seeds, etc.)

Now first thing I want to say is: DON’T freak out about these crazy names and sauces, I promise you will NOT be disappointed in the end result!! (my old roomies can tell you first hand)

Preheat your oven to 425 Degrees (the key to roasting any veggie is to make the oven HOT!)

You want to make your rice first, because it will take the longest. You want to make sure and rinse the rice with lukewarm water and drain a few times to get all of the preservatives, etc off. For every cup of rice you want to add 1 cup of water; I made 3 cups so I added 3 cups of water. If you arent using a ricemaker just read the directions for yours (obviously!). The key to making good rice is to NEVER open the top lid until at least 15 minutes after the rice is done boiling and cooking. If you are using a ricemaker, once the lid pops from “Cook” to “Keep Warm” you should not open the lid until at least 15 minutes after! The rice needs that time to steam and absorb the heat and water. 

Next, you want to wash your Broccoli well under cold water, cut up the broccoli to make your “trees”. You want it to look like it would coming out of a frozen bag or a pre-cut bag you buy at the store. If you want to utilize all of the broccoli like I do, you want to peel or cut the outside of the stem then use the rest to cut into square like peices. 

Take a baking pan, larger size works best and pour some EVOO on the bottom, not too much but enough to coat a lot of the broccoli. Place the broccoli on top and add some salt and pepper. Next take some more EVOO and pour a little all over the top of the broccoli. Take a spatula and roll the broccoli around until it is evenly coated with the EVOO ,salt, and pepper.

Place it in the oven like shown:

While the Broccoli is cooking, you want to make your Sweet & Sour Sauce! I took a picture of the 3 sauces that I prefer to use so you have an idea of what to look for at the store

I use about 1 tbsp per sauce and it should be enough for both Salmon pieces. And like everything that I do, I always taste test and make sure it tastes to my liking. So please do the same and make sure you taste a tiny sample of each sauce so you know which one you will need to add in your sauce.  I also add about 1 tsp of ground ginger to this, then mix together well.

By this time, you should be checking your Broccoli, I usually take the pan out after 15 minutes and give it a good stir, at this point you should start seeing the  broccoli brown a little bit. 

Now, you want to take the aluminum foil and tear off two separate pieces big enough to fit each Salmon filet. Spray a little PAM on each. Then you want to take the sauce and place a little bit on the bottom of each foil piece. Place the Salmon fillets on top of the sauce then add the rest of the sauce on top of each filet.

Next, you want to wrap the foil around the fillets making little foil packets like shown below.

At this time you want to stir the Broccoli again and place the Salmon in the oven on the top rack. If the Broccoli is browning well you can switch the pans and place the Salmon on the bottom rack and Broccoli on top rack to prevent burning. I personally like my Broccoli a little crispy on the tops!  You will want the Salmon to cook for about 10-15 minutes depending on your oven. After 10 I would peek inside the foil and see how it looks. You want your fillets to turn a light pink color and you know it’s ready! 

This is what you want your Broccoli to look like

After everything is ready, I like to take my rice and sprinkle this AHMAZING Rice Seasoning on top. If you are a sushi fan you will LOVE this stuff! You can find it at any Korean store, also probably available at any World Market or places like Trader Joes.  Here is a picture so you have an idea

Here is your end result, yummy yummy in my tummy!! 

Hope you enjoy my Creepy Food and are adventurous enough to try it!! Let me know if you do, I would love to hear some feedback 🙂

One thought on “Creepy Angela Food

Leave a Reply

