Homemade Shepherds Pie!

Like I have said in a previous post, I LOVE comfort foods! I have never had this before, I know Shepherds Pie is a commonly known dish that almost everyone I know has had, but for some reason I’ve never tried it before! So needless to say I was a little nervous about making this dish, so I researched some recipes online and decided to try out my own spins to it!

I am already thinking about what i want to do with it next time I make it, possibly sweet potato pie, I’m also thinking about adding cream cheese to the taters to give it more creaminess and flavor!

I also want to say how excited I am to use my new camera! I got a Nikon D40 and I’m still learning but i’m in love!

Back to food 🙂   What you will need:

For the taters:

2 1/2 lbs of potatoes peeled and diced into cubes 

3 tbsp butter

pinch of salt & pepper

1 tsp or so of garlic salt

1 cup of milk

For the meat mixture:

1 lb ground beef

1/2 yellow onion

2 small garlic cloves 

Half a bag of frozen veggie mix (pick whatever kind you’d like! I picked the beans, peas, carrots, and corn)

Pinch of salt & pepper

For the sauce:

3 tbsp butter

3 tbsp flour

1 cup of chicken broth

salt & pepper

Pre-heat your oven to 350 

Boil a large pot of salted water, add the diced potatoes.

Boil for about 10-15 minutes, you want the potatoes to be fork tender and not crunchy or hard.

While this is boiling, dice up the onions.

Oil your skillet with some EVOO, add the onion and garlic. Cook until translucent

Add the ground beef and veggies, cover with a lid (to steam the frozen veggies)

While this is cooking, your taters are probably nice and tender now. Strain in the colander and  place in a mixing bowl. Add the butter, salt, pepper, and garlic salt. Start mixing and slowly add the milk until creamy.

Make sure you’re keeping an eye out on the beef mixture in the skillet! Keep stirring until the beef is browned and the veggies are cooked through.  Drain when it’s finished cooking.

Now start working on the sauce. I got this sauce from RJ’s family but changed a few things with it. You want to add the butter in a small saucepan and melt it, once melted add the flour, salt & pepper. Slowly add the chicken broth and keep stirring until the chicken broth is gone and the sauce is thick. Then pour into the meat mixture.

Stir in until evenly distributed, let cook on low for a few minutes with the lid on to absorb the flavors.

Now it’s time to prepare the Pie! 

Take a 9×13 pan and place the meat mixture evenly in the pan. Next take the mashed potatoes and evenly layer them on top of the meat. Lastly, evenly place the shredded cheese on top of the taters. Place the pan in the oven and cook for 20-25 minutes or until cheese is melted.

 I hope you enjoy this dish! I know I did 🙂

Leave a Reply

