Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes!

It’s October, and you know what that means! Halloween is just around the corner, and I couldn’t help myself today. I had extra pumpkin puree left in the refrigerator and have been in the baking mood, so I looked up a recipe I found on annies-eats.com (one of the best food blogs ever!) and found this Dee-licious recipe!

I was so excited to bake this today for many reasons, one is because I love decorating and attempting to be creative, and also because I bought a new electric mixer that I absolutely love! It makes baking so much easier!

Here is what you will need:

Yield: about 24-30 cupcakes
Ingredients:
For the cupcakes:

2 2/3 cups all-purpose flour
2 tsp. baking soda
2 tsp. baking powder
2 tsp. ground cinnamon
¼ tsp. freshly grated nutmeg
¼ tsp. ground cloves
1/4 tsp. pumpkin pie spice
1 tsp. salt 1 (15 oz.) can pumpkin puree
1 cup sugar
1 cup packed light brown sugar
1 cup canola or vegetable oil
4 large eggs

For the frosting:
8 oz. cream cheese
5 tbsp. unsalted butter, at room temperature
2 tsp. vanilla extract (I prefer clear)
2½ cups confectioners’ sugar, sifted

If you don’t want to bake as many just cut the recipe in half! 

Preheat your oven to 350°. Line your cupcake baking pans with paper cup cake liners. In a medium bowl sift together the flour, salt, pumpkin pie spice, cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, baking powder, and baking soda. Set this aside. Then in an electric mixer you want to combine the sugar, light brown sugar, oil, and pumpkin puree. Next add eggs, one at a time until well blended. You want to blend this on low to medium low. Then while it is still mixing, you want to slowly add the flour mixture little at a time until everything is well blended. 

Take an ice cream scooper and scoop the batter into the baking liners about 3/4 full. Bake the cupcakes until they are golden brown and a toothpick comes out clean when inserting it in the middle. This took me about 20 minutes. Once they’re done place them aside to cool. While this is cooling, you can make the icing!

In the electric mixer, place the butter and cream cheese and mix on high or medium high. Slowly add the vanilla extract and confectioner’s sugar and increase speed until well blended. You may have to stop it midway and scoop the icing out into the center to make sure it blends evenly.

 I was at Target and saw some cute Halloween baking decorations so I had to buy them! I used those and some food coloring to decorate the cupcakes. I had so much fun making these and I hope you enjoy them as well! This would also be a fun activity to do with your kids! Thank you annies-eats.com for a yummy recipe!

Stay tuned for more Halloween treats from me! Doing what you love, it’s such a healthy passion 🙂
Leave a Reply

