Image

Chicken with Apricot Onion Sauce & Roasted Veggies

I love incorporating some of my favorite foods together to make something spectacular! I have to admit, I have never had apricots cooked with any meal before, I always eat them plain, but this meal brings apricots to a whole new level! If you love the combination of sweet and salty, then this meal is perfect for you! Packed with Vitamins and Minerals this dish is not only healthy, but it tastes good too 🙂 

I give credit to the cooking magazine my future mother-in-law gave me a while back called Food & Wine. It gave me this lovely chicken recipe and I pulled together the asparagus and sweet potatoes which is one of my weekly favorites at home. They paired perfectly with the apricot & onion sauce ! I hope you enjoy! This meal took me about 40-45 minutes (first time, I’m sure it will be faster next time!)

First, preheat your oven to 400º, then rinse & peel the sweet potatoes. Chop them into square & triangular pieces. Next wash the asparagus & snap the ends, lay both in a baking dish with olive oil, salt & pepper. 

Tip: Don’t be afraid to cover these veggies with EVOO, it brings out the flavors so nicely!

While the veggies are roasting, heat a skillet with the EVOO. Add the chicken breast skin side down for about 5 minutes or until golden brown. Add the garlic. Then flip it over for about 2-3 minutes. Once both sides are brown, transfer the chicken onto a baking pan & roast for 15-20 minutes. Around this time you also want to stir the veggies so they brown all over. Next place the dried apricots in a bowl with hot water & cover (for 15 minutes, about the time you will add to the sauce).

While everything is roasting in the oven, you want to make the star part of the meal: the apricot & onion sauce!! Using the same oiled skillet you had for the chicken, cook the minced onion, thyme & bay leaf. Season with salt & pepper. Heat until the onion is tender & translucent. Add the wine & boil until it is reduced by about half, make sure you scrape up the browned pieces at the bottom of the skillet. Next add the chicken broth or stock, apricots, & apricot preserves. Bring to a boil. Cook over high heat until the sauce is lessened & thick. Take off the heat & stir in the butter. Discard the bay leaf & it’s ready to go!!

What you will need:

For the chicken and sauce:

A handful of dried apricots

2-4 (however many you are cooking for) boneless skin-on chicken breasts

1 tablespoon EVOO

1/2 large onion, diced

1 garlic clove, minced

2 thyme sprigs

1 bay leaf

1/2 cup of dry white wine (I used Pinot Grigio)

1 1/2 cups of chicken broth or stock

2 tablespoons of apricot preserves

1 tablespoon of unsalted butter

Salt & Pepper

For the roasted veggies:

EVOO (I really do not measure this, I simply pour a little on the bottom of the pan, then over the veggies)

Salt & Pepper

One bunch of Asparagus

Two medium sized sweet potatoes

Read above for directions! I hope you enjoy this meal as much as I did! Also, this tastes great with a glass of white wine, so cheers!

One thought on “Chicken with Apricot Onion Sauce & Roasted Veggies

Leave a Reply

