Homemade Lasagna

This recipe came from my mother, this dish was one of my favorites when I was young! I am a huge fan of Italian food, mostly because I am a carb & cheese lover (As long as I run it off I am good!) Any way to a mans heart is through their stomach, and let me tell you this will be a huge hit!!

Preheat your oven to 350º. Start boiling a large pot of water. Add lasagna noodles when ready.

First you want to brown your meat, then drain. Add your favorite pasta sauce. (If I was at home, I definitely would add some LaRosas, but unfortunately I had to stick with Classico. You want this to simmer on low for 15-20 minutes to really absorb the flavors.

Next whisk the egg in a small bowl, then take a medium bowl and mix together your parmigiana, italian seasoning, and ricotta cheese.  It’s important to taste test the mixture, if the measurements don’t taste right to you, add more ricotta or spices, whatever you think it needs. I ended up having to add a little more ricotta to my mixture. You may have some extra in the end and that’s ok too!

It’s about that time to drain your noodles. I only ended up using a little over half of these, if that’s the case for you I would suggest freezing the rest so you can re use them next time!

Now it’s time to assemble! Take a 9×13 or bigger baking dish and spray with PAM. Next place a little bit of sauce on the bottom. (try not to use a lot because I tend to just have enough at the end) Now place the noodles down, then the cheese mixture (this always seems kind of tough, try using a rubber spatula it tends to work best for me) Next is another layer of meat sauce, then repeat until the pan is filled and you have no more sauce left. Top it off with shredded mozzarella cheese. I didn’t have enough so I added Monterey Jack mixture on there and it turned out great!

Place in the oven covered with foil for 45-50 minutes. Take the foil off and leave in the oven for another 10-15 minutes until cheese is melted and bubbling.

Take a look at this masterpiece of cheesy greatness. Now all you have to do is devour! I like to make some garlic bread because you can never have enough carbs with an Italian meal 🙂

Bellissimo!!

What you need:

1 box Lasagna noodles (I had about 5 lasagna noodles I didn’t cook left in the box)

2 lbs. ground beef

1 1/2 – 2 cans or bottles of your favorite pasta sauce

1/2 large container of Ricotta cheese

1 tbsp Italian Seasoning

1 cup of Parmigiana cheese

1 egg

Shredded Mozzarella Cheese

ENJOY!!!

Leave a Reply

