Homemade Chicken Pot Pie

Chicken Pot Pie, everyone’s favorite comfort food. Yes I am living in FL, but it has been cold ! And when it gets cold I find every excuse to make warm, home cooked meals. Casseroles, soups, stews, pies, you name it I am always game! This week I decided to make chicken pot pie and taquitos (coming next).

What I love most about this meal is that it’s super easy to make! Who would’ve thought a few simple ingredients would make such an amazing meal! Not only is this good right after you cook it, but it is awesome left over 🙂

Another great thing about this dish is that you can use whatever kind of vegetables you like! For this round, I chose to use onion, garlic, mushrooms, and a frozen bag of green beans, carrots, and peas.

Preheat your oven to 425º. In a skillet you want to cook EVOO, onion, garlic, chicken, and mushrooms. Add salt & pepper, cook until chicken is completely cooked through.

In a large saucepan, melt the butter, then add flour; whisk and slowly add the milk. Stir until thickened. While thickening, cook your frozen veggies in the microwave with some water. (I do this because I want to make sure my veggies will be cooked through). Now add the cooked veggies, stir everything together including the sauteed chicken and mushrooms. Add more flour if needed until it reaches your preferred thickness.  Taste and add salt and pepper if needed. I found myself adding some garlic & onion powder.

While I prepare my casserole dish, I cover my saucepan and leave it on low heat, letting the flavors incorporate and my veggies steam. Take your pie crust and evenly cover the bottom and sides with the crust. Like shown:

Next, take your pie filling and evenly pour into the dish. Once that is done, you take the second crust and lay over top, you will have some crust over lapping, and that is how you fold them into each other resembling pie crust.

Next take a knife and slit four small lines on the top. Place in the oven for 30-40 minutes or until hot and bubbly and the crust browns. Let sit to cool for 10 minutes and to let the flavors sit. This dish is hot if you don’t wait! (I am guilty in that department)


Now it’s time to admire your bowl before you devour it! Nothing beats comfort food like this. The flaky crust and crunchy outside gives this the perfect blend of creamy and crunchy! Now bundle up on the couch and help yourself to a delicious bowl 🙂

What you will need:

2 lbs of chicken tenderloins (or boneless skinless chicken breast)

half a yellow onion, chopped

2 cloves of garlic, minced

1 package of mushrooms, chopped

EVOO

2 tbsp butter

1 cup of while milk/heavy cream/half&half

2 tbsp of flour (or more if needed)

1/2 a can of chicken broth

1 package of your preferred mixed vegetables

1 tsp garlic powder

1 tsp onion powder

Salt & pepper

Package of Pie Crusts (Need two)

Leave a Reply

