Homemade Taquitos!

When I was a kid my dad never cooked. It was always frozen meals and “T.V. dinners”. He would sometimes branch out and feed us his “homemade” spaghetti and meatballs, but of course the meatballs were frozen and tasted like fake mystery meat. Well of the many frozen foods we had, I remember eating these Taquitos from the freezer. They were small and crunchy and I loved them, no matter how processed and bad for me they were! So I was so excited when I saw this recipe and I just had to make it!

You can probably guess where I got this, off of my favorite blog site annies-eats.com! This recipe is super simple and it’s great for freezing leftovers and making another night for dinner! The filling is a lot like the filling I use in my chicken enchiladas. The cream cheese is definitely what makes this dish taste so good and creamy. The baked tortillas give it the crunchy/creamy taste I love with food! It’s also perfect for dipping! I branched off a little from her recipe and added re fried beans inside of my filling. I always like to add my own little touches to recipes I get from other people. This recipe is perfect for kids and for parties! A definite tailgating item.

Here is a glimpse of what you’ll need! Super easy stuff.

Preheat the oven to 425º. You want to boil and then shred your chicken breast. It usually takes about 15-20 minutes to cook the chicken all the way. While you are cooking and shredding your chicken take your cream cheese out to soften. This will make things much easier to mix later.

In a large bowl mix together cream cheese, salsa, lime juice, spices, cilantro, green onion, refried  beans, chicken and shredded cheese. Mix well and until everything is evenly combined. Large spoons are the best for this.

Take your tortillas and heat them in the microwave for about 30 seconds, halfway through flip over to the other side, this makes it easier to fold later. Now take a tbsp or two of the filling and put into the center of the tortilla and spoon evenly. Then roll it up like you would a soft taco or enchilada. Place it on a baking sheet with parchment paper. Do each of these until all of the filling is gone or you run out of tortillas.

Spray the tortillas with some PAM and sprinkle a little salt on top of them. Place into the oven for 20-25 minutes or until your desired crunchy consistency. (Mine were in a little longer because I wanted them to be really crunchy on the outside and soft in the middle!)

Of course you have to add your favorite dipping sauces!! In the green bowl is RJ and I’s go-to sauce for Mexican: sour cream and salsa mixed together. It may look weird, but you’re most likely going to want both anyway so why not mix them together! I also have warmed up re-fried beans and the best Red Hot.

I just love the way these turn a golden brown color and the filling just oozes out! I am telling you, these things are amazing and they are so easy to make! The longest part is shredding up the chicken! And you could always try using some rotisserie chicken instead that’s been pre-cooked. If you are a fan of Mexican food and you liked my chicken enchiladas you will LOVE this!

What you’ll need:

3 oz. cream cheese, softened
¼ cup salsa
1 tbsp. freshly squeezed lime juice
1 tsp. chili powder
½ tsp. cumin
½ tsp. onion powder
2 cloves garlic, minced
3 tbsp. chopped cilantro
1-2 green onions, chopped
1/2 can of refried beans
2 cups shredded cooked chicken (I ended up using about 3 chicken breasts)
1 cup shredded Mexican cheese
10-12 6-inch flour tortillas
Cooking spray
Kosher salt

7 thoughts on “Homemade Taquitos!

  1. Ashley says:

    I am making this tonight…. nice blurp on dad…. haha remember the canned carrots and Kroger chicken?? Maybe we won’t make that a recipe…. also DO YOU HAVE MOMS ENCHILADAS on here somewhere?? I know it sounds weird but I have now officially tried them and liked them.

    • Actually, these are a lot like mom’s enchiladas because the filling is pretty similar. But yes they are on my website, just search it or look in the categories section. I am glad you like them, you are going to love these!!

Leave a Reply

