Simple Chocolate Chip Cookies

These cookies are SO easy to make, and might I add delicious. They are off of a Nestle Tollhouse recipe, but I prefer to use Ghirardelli semi-sweet chocolate pieces instead. I think they have more of a rich flavor to them and I think they are worth the extra few bucks! RJ is coming home tonight late from a rough weekend in Iowa, I thought I would cheer him up with his favorite cookies when he comes home 🙂 I was also a bit bummed because I couldn’t eat any of them, I have had my wisdom teeth taken out and they are not ready for cookies yet, sad for me, not so much for my diet 😉

Holidays are around the corner and I will most likely be overloading this blog with desserts and the like, so stay tuned. I am also excited to show you my very first Thanksgiving feast that I will attempt to make myself (with the help of some good lookin’ military men) and let’s just hope it turns out in my favor!

So let’s start! Preheat your oven to 375º. Of course, for almost every baking item, you need to separate your dry ingredients with your wet ingredients. First, mix the flour, baking soda, and salt.  Set aside.

Next, mix together the butter, sugar, brown sugar, and vanilla extract until creamy, I used an electric mixer, but you can also use a spoon (just realize your arm will have a nice workout!) After, slowly add the eggs, one at a time until blended. Now slowly add the flour mixture little by little until gone and the cookie dough is well blended. I usually have to spoon the sides into the middle and mix again to make sure you mix ingredients evenly.

Spoon a tablespoon onto an un-greased baking sheet and set in the oven for 9-11 minutes, until the outside is a darker brown and the inside looks cooked through.

To save time, while the first batch is in the oven, get your next batch ready on a second baking sheet. That way when your first batch is done, you’ll be ready to put the second in right away! Once your first batch has cooled, place on a wire rack with parchment paper and get your next batch ready to go again. Keep doing this until your cookie dough is gone, or you can freeze your dough if you feel you have too much.

Look at allll of those cookies!! Cookie monster has got nothin’ on me!! He’ll be home shortly to devour these in one sitting though 🙂 I hope you enjoy this fun and easy recipe! Perfect to bring the kids and do a baking project with! Santa will love you for these and a glass of milk on Christmas Eve too 😉

What you need:

  • 2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) butter, softened
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 3/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1-2 cups of your favorite semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1 cup of chopped nuts (optional, I ex-nayed these for mine)

One thought on “Simple Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Pingback: GailWrites

Leave a Reply

