My Very First Thanksgiving Dinner: Part 1

Image

This year, I took the bold and brave move to cook my very own Thanksgiving. And I am proud to say that everything worked out perfectly! Looking back, I still don’t know how I did it. Somehow I timed everything perfectly and all out on the table at the same time. I had the support of my mom and future mother in-law to help me along with any questions I had.

Please take a look at my subjects who were kind enough to try my food, I don’t think I could have gone wrong with these guys they’ll pretty much eat anything.

Image

The biggest thing that saved me from a hectic day of cooking was that I made my stuffing and green bean casserole the day before. All I had to do was put it in the oven when the turkey had only a half hour or so left. 

Image

This stuffing is so easy to make! The longest part was toasting up 3 loaves of bread in a 2 pc. bread toaster. I probably could’ve toasted it all in the oven at one time, but I wanted to make sure it would toast right. After toasting, cut them into cubes. Saute your onions and celery on medium heat after butter melts. It is done when celery is soft and onions are translucent. 

In a very large bowl, add your onions, celery, chicken broth, spices, and mix well. Beat the eggs and add them to the mix, this will make your stuffing fluffy. If it’s still dry, add warm water until you reach the right consistency. You want the bread cubes to be soft but not soggy. 

Once mixed well, place in the oven covered in foil for 45 minutes, then take the foil off for 10 minutes. In this case, I had refrigerated the mix and placed it in the oven the next day.

Image

Next I prepared the green bean casserole. This was another first for me, I have never really been a fan, but it’s one of  RJ’s favorites so I thought I would give it a whirl. I really think the fresh green beans are what made this dish so successful.

I boiled a pot of water, while heating I snapped off the ends of a bag of fresh green beans and washed them off with cold water. Boil for 10-15 minutes, or until soft.

Image

After boiling, drain and wash with cold water (this keeps the beans fresh and maintains color and a slight crunch to them). Next, melt the butter in a saucepan, add the minced shallots and cook on medium for 1-2 minutes. Add the flour and mix until thickened. Next turn the heat on high and add the can of mushroom soup, half&half, and mix evenly. Bring to a boil and reduce heat, add salt and pepper and green beans, simmer for 5 minutes. 

Grease your dish with butter and pour the mixture into the pan. At this time I covered and refrigerated. You will place this in a 350 degree oven for 30 minutes, putting the onions on top for the last 5-10 minutes. 

Image

Stay tuned for the best part of the meal, the Turkey! Look for it in Part 2 of My Very First Thanksgiving Dinner!!

What you’ll need:

For the Stuffing:

3 loaves of bread (i use wheat) toasted and cubed
1/2 cup butter
1 can chicken broth
2 large onions minced
2 stalk of celery minced
3 tsps poultry seasoning
3 tsps thyme
2 tsps rosemary
salt and pepper to taste
a hand full of minced fresh parsley
2 eggs, beaten
warm water

For the Casserole:

1 bag of fresh green beans
3 tbsp butter
1 can cream of mushroom soup
1 cup half&half
salt and pepper to taste
French’s onions

One thought on “My Very First Thanksgiving Dinner: Part 1

Leave a Reply

