RJ’s Tuna Noodle Casserole

So I worked my usual 12 hour shift and as usual I was super tired and had no interest in moving what so ever. So RJ made dinner and it is his family’s famous Tuna Noodle Casserole. This was the first dinner he made for me a  year or so ago and I find myself craving it all of the time. This casserole is hardy and rich with tons of cheese. So of course I love it! The best part about this dish is the peas, they make the perfect addition to the tuna and cheese with a little bite and a soft inside the flavors go beautifully together!

When he made it for me the first time I thought, oh how nice he is making blueberry muffins for dessert. He told me, no it goes with the casserole, that’s how we have always made it. I thought in my head, that’s the strangest thing I’ve ever heard. So while eating, I found myself glancing at the muffins and back at my food and back at the muffins. Finally, RJ convinced me to try it and I couldn’t believe how good it tasted together! Who would’ve thought that blueberry muffins and tuna casserole would be so good?

So I must tell you, no matter how weird it is, when you make this casserole, you better whip up some of those muffins too; you will be completely surprised!! Just buy a box mix, it takes about 20 minutes to cook and you wont regret it!! (plus you’ll have some breakfast muffins for the next morning!)

So let’s get started!! First preheat your oven to 350º. Start to boil a large pot of salted water. Now start making the famous Jameson white sauce. Melt the butter over medium-low heat. Stir in the flour continuously for 2 minutes. Warm milk in the microwave to make it room temperature, add to sauce and stir. Keep stirring the mixture until it is thickened and just starts bubbling (do not overheat or the mixture will clump or burn to the bottom) Lastly add some pepper. Once it is ready, you can add the can of soup and cheese. If you  bought the cheese in  blocks, I would suggest you break it into small pieces and adding to the pot. Stir until melted.

By this time your noodles should be added and cook until al dente (per package directions. I like to use broad egg noodles, yolk-free) Thaw your peas by running over warm water. Once the sauce is evenly mixed and thickened up and the cheese is melted, you can add the tuna and the thawed out peas.

Once the noodles are done, strain them thoroughly, you don’t want a watery casserole! Take your noodles back into the large pot and add the sauce. Mix well. Spray a 9×13 pan with PAM. Pour the mixture evenly into the pan and place foil on top to cover. Place in the oven for 30-45 minutes, taking the foil off for the last 10 minutes.

Enjoy some cheesy goodness 🙂

If you want to be an adventerous person and try the muffins with it, just buy your favorite box brand (or if you have a quick homemade recipe) mix it up real quick and place into the oven above the casserole, they will be done around the same time!! Perfect timing for a perfect pair to eat together.

What you’ll need:

1 lb. Broad Egg Noodles
2 tbsp. Butter
2 tbsp. Flour
2 cups Whole Milk
1 can of Cream of Celery Soup
1 lb. of American Cheese (don’t use the individually wrapped slices)
About half a bag or 1 1/2 cups of Peas (frozen and thawed)
1 large can of Tuna

9×13 Pyrex or glass casserole dish.
1 box of your favorite Blueberry Muffin mix (and the fixings for that!)

One thought on “RJ’s Tuna Noodle Casserole

Leave a Reply

