Mahi Mahi Stuffed with Shrimp

I went to the store with not much on my list and I thought, seafood sounds good! I thought of what I usually like to order at seafood restaurants and the first thing that came to mind was seafood stuffed fish. I went to the seafood counter and tried to decide between the tilapia and mahi mahi. The mahi looked much more appetizing to me so I picked up the last two and I also ordered a handful of small shrimp (not previously cooked) peeled and de-veined. I wasn’t really sure how I would make the stuffing, so I looked up a few recipes and pulled together a combination of things.

I chose cauliflower and carrots for my side dish, my favorite thing to do with veggies is to roast them! The olive oil, salt & pepper just bring out the natural flavors of the vegetables and the best part about the carrots is that they have a sweet taste to them and it goes lovely with the seafood!

Start out by pre heating your oven to 425º. Drizzle olive oil over your biggest oven pan. Rinse and cut your cauliflower to make little “trees” and then rinse, peel and julienne your carrots. Place on your pan and top with more olive oil then sprinkle salt & pepper. Roll around with a spatula until it’s all covered well. Place into the oven.

You will want to keep an eye on the veggies while you prepare and cook the fish. I take them out every 10 minutes and toss around until they are browned on the outside, I like them almost burnt so you get that crispy and soft taste. You want it to look like this:

Ok so if time works well for you like it did for me, your veggies and fish should be ready at the same time. Now, while your veggies are in the oven, start working on your shrimp stuffing. Rinse off your shrimp and place in a food processor, add garlic, shallot, green onions, Worcestershire, olive oil, salt & pepper. Grind until evenly processed.

Place the ground shrimp etc. into a bowl and add about 1/2-3/4 cup of bread crumbs. (You can use real bread or store bought bread crumbs). Mix all together evenly. Take your fish and rinse, cut in the middle not all the way through (this is called butterflying) Spoon in the stuffing mix. Don’t be afraid to stuff a lot in the fish, the more the better 🙂

Take small pieces of butter and place on top, this browns the stuffing. I added a dash of ground cayenne pepper and regular ground pepper on top. You will put it on the top rack above the veggies and cook for 20-25 minutes (until the fish is white and the stuffing is browned).

Now it’s time to eat!!! I must say this was just as good as any restaurant stuffed fish, next time I want to add some type of sauce on top 🙂  I hope this turns out well for you like it did for me!!

What you’ll need:

2 pieces of your favorite Fish (I used Mahi Mahi)
a handful of mini Shrimp (de-veined, peeled, and not previously cooked)
1 Clove of Garlic
1 Shallot
1/4 cup of Green Onion
1 tsp Worcestershire Sauce
Drizzle of Olive Oil
1/2 to 3/4 cup of Plain Bread Crumbs
Butter
Sprinkle of ground Cayenne Pepper
Salt & Pepper

1 head of Cauliflower
2 long whole Carrots
Olive Oil
Salt & Pepper

One thought on “Mahi Mahi Stuffed with Shrimp

Leave a Reply

