Pulled Pork Tacos with Corn Tortillas

I asked RJ what he wanted for dinner and he said tacos. I wanted to do something different than my usual ground beef and taco seasoning. So I did some research and found this awesome looking recipe from Food Network! I am not lying when I say these tacos tasted so fresh I felt like I was in Mexico!!! The smoky pork was obviously the star of this meal, you cook it slowly with chilies, cinnamon, honey and many other spices, but the sweet and spicy flavor is unbeatable!! As you can see on this picture, every taco was dressed differently. My favorite was the top one, I sauteed purple onions & tomatoes with some sugar and salt & pepper. I also added some juice from the slow cooker and sprinkles of goat cheese. Plain, simple and sooo good. The other two I added shredded cheese, lettuce, taco sauce, sour cream, and salsa. I highly recommend corn flour tortillas with this recipe.

This is super easy to make the longest part is the slow cooker, you need to cook it for 5 hours, I cooked mine for 4:30 because my meat was about 1/2 lb less than what the recipe called for. Let’s start:

The recipe calls for ancho and pasilla chiles, however I could not find pasilla chiles so I only used ancho. These chiles will be found in your ethnic aisle and they are dark and dried. You will want to put the chiles in a bowl along with the garlic (unpeeled) put in the microwave for 2 minutes, or until soft. Take out the seeds and stems and peel the garlic. Place in a food processor and blend. Next, add the chipotles, onion, 2 tablespoons olive oil, honey, vinegar, 1 tablespoon salt and the oregano to the blender; puree until smooth like you see above.

Heat a tablespoon of olive oil in a large skillet over high heat; add the chile sauce and fry, stirring, until thick and fragrant, about 6-8 minutes. Pour in the broth and reduce until slightly thickened. Rub salt & pepper on your meat, place into the crock pot and add the cinnamon stick and bay leaves, then pour the sauce over top. Close the lid and cook on high for 5 hours.

When the meat is done, you will be able to shred the pork using two forks. The meat should fall right off! Now heat up your tortillas and assemble whichever way you like! I suggest putting some of the crock pot sauce over the pork on the taco and also I suggest sauteing the onions and tomatoes with some sugar and salt and pepper. I added goat cheese which really gave it that authentic taste!

The one thing I love about tacos is that you can build it whichever way you want, use your creativity!!

After eating these you will probably need time for a little siesta 🙂 enjoy!

What you’ll need:

  • 3 whole ancho chiles
  • 3 whole pasilla chiles (I couldn’t find these so I didn’t use them in mine and they tasted great!)
  • 4 cloves garlic, unpeeled
  • 2 to 3 chipotles in adobo sauce
  • 1/2 medium white onion, roughly chopped
  • 3 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • 1 tablespoon cider vinegar
  • Kosher salt
  • 2 teaspoons dried oregano
  • 3 3/4 cups low-sodium chicken broth
  • 4 pounds boneless pork shoulder (untrimmed)
  • Freshly ground pepper
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 1 cinnamon stick
  • Corn tortillas, warmed, for serving
  • Assorted taco toppings, for garnish (I used goat cheese, purple onions and tomatoes, salsa, sour cream, lettuce, shredded cheese, taco sauce [pretty much anything you can think of to put on a taco])

Leave a Reply

