Crab Cannelloni

Image

The days have been flying by! I would like to apologize for my lack of blogging lately, I had gone home for a few weeks and celebrated my Bachelorette party and my Wedding Shower! Once I came back I had come down with a nasty respiratory virus and fevers ūüė¶ Unfortunately I have had this recipe ready to post for weeks but just haven’t come around to feeling up to the post!¬†

Fear not, I have kept you waiting long enough! And if you’re a fan of seafood you will love this dish! The Bechamel Sauce is perfect with the fresh crab and ricotta cheese. I made steamed asparagus, a side salad, and garlic bread (I love my carbs!) to go with this meal. The¬†Cannelloni¬†itself is a bit heavy so the salad is a perfect pair! I hope you enjoy this little Italian trip to the sea and be ready to impress your family or friends! If you are cooking for 1-2 people, the extras are great for freezing and also left-over!

Start the Bechamel sauce by melting the butter in a saucepan over medium heat. Add garlic and cook for about a minute, then whisk in the flour for about 2 minutes and until thickened. Add milk one cup at a time to slowly incorporate. Whisk in salt, pepper, and nutmeg. Cook on medium or medium-low for about 10 minutes and do not boil. 

Cook the pasta shells in salted water and boil about 8-10 minutes or according to package directions. Be gentle when taking them out to prevent splitting of the pasta. It is pretty delicate!

While the pasta is cooking, take a large bowl and mix the ricotta, 3/4 cup cheese, egg yolk, basil, parsley, crab, salt, and pepper until well combined. 

Preheat your oven to 375. Spray a 9×13 pan with PAM and add one cup of the Bechamel sauce evenly on the bottom. Fill in the pasta shells with the cheese and crab mixture and place evenly on the pan. Top the shells with more Bechamel sauce and sprinkle the remaining cheese on top.¬†

Bake for 15-20 minutes or until bubbly and golden brown. Garnish with a sprinkle of parsley and serve! 

I highly advise you to only buy real crab! I know it’s a little pricey, but it’s worth it! I opted out of boiling crab and then shelling it, I just bought the pre-shelled crab in a container mostly found on the shelf of the fresh seafood section.

I hope you enjoy this meal as much as me!! 

What you’ll need:

For the Bechamel Sauce:
5 Tbsp unsalted butter
1 clove garlic, minced
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
4 cups whole milk
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp fresh ground pepper
pinch of fresh grated nutmeg

For the Manicotti:
1 box Manicotti pasta shells (12-15 count)
1 cup whole-milk ricotta cheese
1 cup grated Parmigiano-Regiano cheese, divided
1 egg yolk
1/3 cup chopped fresh basil
2 Tbsp chopped fresh parsley, plus more for garnish
1 lb lump crab meat, inspected for shell pieces
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp fresh ground pepper

Derived from Confections of a Foodie Bride .

One thought on “Crab Cannelloni

Leave a Reply

