Breakfast Pizza

Breakfast pizza…or is it?? We call this tasty meal, Brinner (breakfast for dinner!) Creative, yes…super tasty…yes, easy to make?? YES! This pizza gives you that breakfast craving you find yourself longing for on occasion and doesn’t disappoint! I decided to stray a bit from your ordinary pizza and make individuals for myself and RJ. I thought the smaller dough‘s would look better with the egg on top giving each of us our own egg and not to mention all of the other amazing ingredients included. The best part about this meal is that you can have endless ideas and options to toppings. I went with protein packed and veggie loaded.

The dough is Boboli, ready made. All you have to do is place it in the oven, and it’s super fresh and tasty~ (I still haven’t knocked down homemade dough yet). The sauce however, is homemade and amazing! It’s super easy to make and doesn’t take much time! The best part about it is that you have extra for other quick weeknight meals. I used the Jimmy Dean‘s turkey sausage for a healthier option, and the bacon.. well that’s just impossible to get healthy, but it’s a staple for my pizzas!

I start with the sauce. Mince your garlic (your fingers will smell for the night, it’s a lot!! But just enough for the sauce) Saute with some olive oil, on medium high. After a minute or two add the paste and fry with the garlic on medium. Then pour in your tomato puree, wine, and water. Add your spices. Turn on low and simmer.

Turn your oven onto the highest setting, mine is 550 and that would be ideal. I would suggest using a pizza pan, they cook the best. Take your sauce and place some in the middle and gently spoon in a circular motion towards the outside, (as you can see the one on the left was much better) Next add your ricotta in clumps throughout, it will melt out during baking. If you like goat cheese, add this as well. Next add your veggies and meats. Lastly, sprinkle with shredded mozz or more goat cheese whichever one you desire (the left has no mozz, just the right).

Place in the oven for 5-10 minutes. Take out and crack an egg in a cup, then gently pour the egg on top of the pizza. As you can see, my pizza on the right was a sad casualty, but that will happen! It still tasted just as good! Place back in the oven for another five minutes, and I actually put my oven on high broil for these last five minutes to give the toppings a nice crisp to them. Careful not to cook too long, unless you don’t want your eggs a sunny-side up style.

That’s it!! You’re done, and how easy was that?! Did I mention how good it tastes? Something unique and different than any other pizza I have ever had! Definitely a first for me with the egg on top, and I loved it and I hope you do too!

What you’ll need:
For the sauce:
10 cloves of garlic, minced
2 tbsp tomato paste
28 oz can of tomato puree
1/2 cup red wine
1 cup water
1/4 cup olive oil
fresh parsley, basil
dried Italian seasoning
pepper
For the pizza:
Boboli pizza dough (I used individual size)

homemade pasta sauce
whole milk ricotta cheese
goat cheese (or mozzarella if preferred)
Your favorite pizza toppings!
2 eggs

Leave a Reply

