Homemade Pumpkin Spice Latte

Fall season is coming, and it’s my favorite season! I have to say, living down south makes it much harder to celebrate the cool weather, crisp mornings, and changing of the leaves. I am finding that through food, I can feel close to home and close to feeling like it’s the fall I remember growing up in. I retrieved this easy recipe from one of my favorite food blogs, Annies-eats.com. She always has the best recipes!! Thank you Annie for helping me enjoy a nice cup of coffee and pretending to be back home!

Starbucks doesn’t see me very often, but around Fall I am practically going broke buying my favorite coffee drink, Pumpkin Spice Latte! But with this recipe I can finally save myself some cash and make it at home!  I would suggest buying a milk frother, it’s not expensive and works great! We bought ours at Target made by Keurig. If you don’t have one, you’ll have to actually do some work and heat some milk and whisk until frothy! So let’s begin to make one amazing drink!

Take a medium saucepan and melt the sugar and water on medium high heat, do not boil! Add cinnamon sticks, spices, and pumpkin puree, whisk. Cook for another five minutes stirring frequently. Remove from heat and let cool for about 15 minutes. Strain with a cheesecloth or mesh strainer and refrigerate.

To make your latte, pour 1/4 of your cup full of coffee or espresso. Pour about the same amount of your warm milk into the cup and add the syrup, stir. Add more if needed, depending on how sweet you like it. Top with the froth and a few sprinkles of cinnamon and pumpkin spice and sprinkle with the syrup.

Relax and enjoy the amazing-ness.

What you’ll need:
1½ cups water
1½ cups sugar
4 cinnamon sticks
1 tsp. ground nutmeg
½ tsp. ground ginger
½ tsp. ground cloves
3 tbsp. pumpkin puree
your favorite coffee or espresso
milk 

Leave a Reply

