Mediterranean Hummus Dip

030-20

One word about this dip… amazing.

I found this recipe on, you could guess, annies-eats.com one of my favorite blog sites! It was my last day at work before leaving for my new job and we had a pot luck where everyone brings a dish whether it be entrees, appetizers, desserts, etc. I thought bringing an appetizer was a safe bet and it was very easy to carry with me! Hummus is very common to me, but some people don’t even know what it is, so I figured I could also introduce any first timers!

This dip is super easy to make, the most time i spent was making the pesto. Annie’s recipe called for homemade hummus, but I didn’t have time to make that and pesto so I used Sabra hummus instead.

To get started, make your cilantro pesto. In a food processor combine pesto, garlic, 2tbsp olive oil, pecans and pine nuts. Pulse until a paste-like consistency forms. Scrape the sides of the bowl and pulse again at the same time adding the rest of the olive oil. Place in a bowl and add the parmesan.

Next you assemble the rest of the layers together!! Spread a thick layer of hummus (I used the whole container of Sabra) Next you layer the pesto on top, then the cucumbers, onions, banana peppers, olives, feta cheese and dried tomatoes. Serve with Pita chips and Voila!!!

Simple right?? You would be amazed how fast this dip will disappear! And it’s so easy and relatively cheap to make!

038-12 (1)

What you’ll need:

For the cilantro pesto:
1½ cups fresh cilantro
2 cloves garlic, chopped
1/3 cup olive oil, divided
2 tbsp. pecans
2 tbsp. pine nuts
¼ cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese

To assemble the dip:
Hummus
Cilantro pesto (above)
Cucumber, seeded and diced
Red onion, diced
Banana peppers, chopped
Sliced olives (black or Kalamata)
Crumbled feta cheese
Sun dried tomatoes

035-17 (1)

Leave a Reply

