Carne Asada Burritos

551f1f0c-8b8e-4040-a917-d2273e10275c

I sort of have this obsession with the Whole Foods by our house. I’ve been to many organic grocery stores, but this one is like a mecca for organic food shoppers! It has everything and anything you need and with multiple options! My personal favorite is their ready made seafood soups, all from local Florida seafood markets and fisheries!

I wanted something quick to make for after work, so I bought some pre-marinated carne asada. I also like corn and black beans so I found some frozen rice with black beans and corn. And of course you need some cheese and I happen to love goat cheese on my tacos so I bought some that was on sale, you know it’s good when it just falls apart at the slightest touch! If you’ve never had goat cheese, it has a very tart taste to it and is very soft, like butter. I use it on what I call “fancy” tacos, with really good meat such as carne asada or steak. But feel free to use anything you like!

To get started, take a small grill pan and coat with PAM or non stick spray. Turn the heat onto medium high and wait for the grill to get hot. Once it’s hot enough, grill the carne asada 5 minutes on each side for a total of 10-12 minutes total (unless you don’t like your meat pink in the middle) for medium rare I grilled mine for 10 minutes. You want to be careful to not turn the meat too often for it will lose it’s flavor and tenderness.

While the meat is cooking, place your rice bag in the microwave and cook according to directions. Let sit for a few minutes to steam. I mixed my salsa in with the rice to give it some moisture and flavor. Heat your tortillas for about 5 seconds on each side to get them soft and warm (You can also place them in the oven on 350 wrapped in foil).

All there’s left to do now is assemble! Tortilla, meat, rice mixture, and top it off with goat cheese crumbles. And voila!! You have an amazing burrito in 15 minutes! Not to mention it’s very healthy for you, whole grain tortillas, beans, corn, lean meat, all organic… what a healthier way to make a burrito!

008-18

What you’ll need:

  • Whole grain tortillas
  • Carne Asada or some type of lean, tender meat
  • Frozen bag of rice mix with black beans and corn
  • Your favorite Salsa
  • Goat cheese crumbles

009-20

Leave a Reply

