Santa Fe Chicken Mac-N-Cheese

IMG_20130729_2105061

I want to start out by saying it’s been over a month since I’ve last blogged and it feels good to get back! My husband and I had traveled to France and Rome then to Iowa (I know talk about a change in environment!) Then I was sick for a few weeks and working in between! I am glad to say I have a few recipes to post.

This recipe was one of those nights when you just pile a bunch of ingredients together and hope it turns out well. I happen to love these kinds of recipes! Mac and cheese is a dish you can make in so many ways! Don’t forget about my Seafood Mac and cheese I made earlier in the year, amazing!  I love spicy food and I had some chicken and peppers so I thought I would make a tex-mex style of mac and cheese.

To start, Preheat your oven to 400°, rinse and cut off the fat on the chicken breasts, then dice into cubes.  Place chicken on a skillet with olive oil and prewarmed on medium high heat. Add all of your spices. Cook  until chicken is no longer pink in the middle, about 20 minutes, while your chicken is cooking, bring a large pot of salted water to a boil, add your pasta and cook according to package directions. Set your chicken aside to cool once done. In the same skillet, add your butter then add your onions and peppers. After a few minutes add your garlic and chili peppers, stir well. They are done when onions and peppers are translucent and soft but not soggy.

Once your pasta is done, strain then place back into the pot. Add your chicken and veggies. Take your cheddar blocks and hand shred them. Place in the pot. Add your sour cream, mix until encorporated. Careful not to mix too roughly, try to almost fold everything over.  Once mixed well, transfer to a baking dish. You will need a rather large one for this dish. Place in the oven for 20 minutes or until the top is browned and the cheese is bubbling.

IMG_20130729_2112331

What you’ll need:
1 box of your favorite pasta, i used campanelle
1 tbsp. olive oil
2 boneless skinless chicken breasts, diced
1 tsp each of Cumin, Paprika, Cayanne, Cajun and A dash of crushed Red pepper flakes
2 tbsp. butter
1/2 yellow onion, diced
red, yellow, and orange bell peppers, thinly cut, seeds and casing removed
3 cloves of garlic, minced
1 small can diced green chilies
1/2 cup light sour cream
6oz each of freshly shredded sharp cheddar and some type of spicy cheese like pepper jack

Leave a Reply

