Snicker’s cupcakes

086-5

Baking is beginning to take over my heart. I never was a baker, I always thought I wasn’t good at it. Then one day I decided I would give it a go and baked a three layer cake, I mean why not right?? Surprisingly it turned out pretty good for my first time, and my first successful homemade baking venture! I don’t know whether it gave me some confidence, but ever since, I have had mostly successful and tasty baking experiences! I have yet to make up my own recipe however, I still need to learn ratios, but that is my ultimate goal! One day I would love to feel comfortable enough to be able to make up my own tasty treats, and I can’t wait for that day.

This recipe was derived from a post I saw on Pinterest, Snicker’s Cake. She is such a talented blogger and makes mine look puny.. so don’t judge!! I thought this cake was brilliant, beautiful, and looked so sinful! I love cupcakes and my husband is gone so I wouldn’t have anyone to share a giant cake with, so I decided to turn this cake into 24 cupcakes and share them with my coworkers!  I used the same ingredients as she, but the baking time is different and the nougat filling was placed inside the cupcakes, unlike the layers in the cake.

Get ready to be taken by surprise, and to indulge in a snickers bar that has miraculously turned into a cupcake. This blogger couldn’t have made it any better and I’m so glad I decided to try it in cupcake form!

To get started, preheat your oven to 350°. Line 24 cupcake pans with cupcake liners. In a large mixing bowl, sift together your dry ingredients: flour, baking and soda powder, sugar, salt, and cocoa powder. In a separate medium bowl, whisk together all of your wet ingredients: eggs, oil, coffee, buttermilk, and vanilla. Slowly pour in your wet ingredients to your dry in increments and mix on medium speed until incorporated about 2 minutes, stop and scrape the sides and very bottom to gather the flour, etc that have accumulated on the sides. Mix for an additional 30 seconds to 1 minute. The batter will seem pretty thin, but it will bake beautifully and it will still be slightly moist inside! Grab an ice cream scoop and place your batter in the liners evenly. I filled mine a little over halfway full. Place in the oven on the same rack and bake for 10 minutes, turn the pans around and bake for another 5-6 minutes or until a toothpick is inserted in the middle and comes out clean. After about 10 or so minutes, take them out to cool on a cooling rack.

While the cupcakes are cooling, make your nougat filling (my favorite part). Take a saucepan and melt your butter on medium high heat. Add the sugar and milk, stir until the sugar has dissolved completely, bring to a boil. Once boiling, reduce the heat to low and cook for about 5 minutes. Remove the pan from the burner and add the peanut butter, marshmallow fluff,  and vanilla. Stir until evenly mixed. Gently fold in the peanuts and let sit to reach room temperature.

040-14

While everything is cooling, go ahead and make your salted caramel sauce, you can also make this ahead of time, it can sit at room temp for 2 days or can be chilled in the fridge. You can find this recipe on browneyed baker’s blog as well. This is the very first successful caramel sauce attempt I’ve had! I’ve tried so far about 5 times and number six I guess was the right number! Every time I’ve tried, I’ve burnt the caramel or not cooked it long enough. The key is the right timing. You need to take the caramel off the heat right when it reaches 350°. If you miss the timing, you will ruin the caramel! I do think I could’ve made a better batch, but I’m just glad it was edible!

049-12

Lastly, make your chocolate ganache. This sauce is absolutely amazing! Tastes just like the chocolate that’s covering the snicker’s bars! I literally licked the whisk clean when I was done, and was not ashamed at all. This one also requires a little bit of timing. Coarsly chop your chocolate, you should use a chocolate bar, but I couldn’t find one at the store other than semi-sweet, so I decided to try milk chocolate chips (Ghirardelli my favorite!) place in a medium sized bowl. In a small saucepan heat up your cream until it just begins to boil, this is the right timing part, and transfer to the chocolate bowl. Let sit for 2 minutes. Whisk starting in the center and going outward until it’s just incorporated and smooth.

067-5

Set aside to cool. Stir occasionally to keep it thick. If you make this ahead of time you can also sit this in room temp overnight or up to 2 days, just be sure to tightly wrap it in cling wrap and set a bowl inverted over top of the ganache bowl.

044-11 047-11

Your cupcakes and nougat filling should be cooled by now. Place your nougat filling in a piping bag, using Wilton’s Bismarck Round Decorating Tip 230, fill the cupcakes center releasing pressure once you get to the top of the cupcake, then take it out. Repeat for all cupcakes. If you don’t have this or don’t want to purchase it, take a paring knife and cut out a deep circle in the center of the cupcakes. Be careful not to go through the cupcakes bottom. Take a small spoon and fill the hole with the nougat filling, replace the top with the small top layer.

072-9

Lastly, make your icing. Take your mixer and beat your butter and cream cheese on medium high speed for about 5 minutes, if you have it use your whisk attachment. Pour in the salted caramel, and whisk until incorporated. Turn down the speed to medium low and slowly pour in the powdered sugar, in increments until it’s all mixed well. Take a spatula and scrape the outsides into the middle. Increase the speed to medium high and beat for another 3 minutes or until light and fluffy. If you make this ahead of time, you can also cover with cling wrap and set in the fridge.

081-5

To assemble your cupcakes, ice with your butter cream frosting. Take your salted caramel sauce and pour in a baggy with a small whole snipped in the corner, or use a clear squeeze bottle (I use these and they are a lot easier!). Do the same with the chocolate ganache. Squeeze both sauces over top of the icing. Sprinkle the top with chopped peanuts.

092-4

What you’ll need:

For the CupCakes:
2½ cups + 1 tablespoon all-purpose flour
3 cups granulated sugar
1 cup + 1 tablespoon Dutch-process cocoa powder
1 tablespoon baking soda
1½ teaspoons baking powder
1½ teaspoons salt
3 eggs, at room temperature
1½ cups buttermilk, at room temperature
1½ cups strong black coffee, hot
¾ cup vegetable oil
4½ teaspoons vanilla extract

For the Nougat Filling:
4 tablespoons unsalted butter
1 cup granulated sugar
¼ cup evaporated milk
1½ cups marshmallow fluff
¼ cup creamy peanut butter
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1½ cups salted peanuts, roughly chopped

For the Salted Caramel Buttercream Frosting:
½ cup unsalted butter, at room temperature
4 ounces cream cheese, at room temperature
¼ cup salted caramel sauce (see browneyed baker’s recipe)
2 cups powdered sugar

For the Milk Chocolate Ganache:
8 ounces milk chocolate, finely chopped
4 ounces (½ cup) heavy cream

For the Assembly & Garnish:
Additional salted caramel sauce & chocolate ganache
Chopped peanuts

112-1

2 thoughts on “Snicker’s cupcakes

  1. OMG, Angela, your blog is TOOO dangerous!;-) Especially since I’m visiting it after 10:-(
    P.S. Angela, please let me know if you got my Pinterest invite – it says I did, but sometimes pple say they can’t see my invitations. Welcome to the board!!!

Leave a Reply

