Greek Turkey Burgers with Tzatziki Sauce

7335ac6e-90d7-4b0f-8239-34a98b9188a3

So I had made some random pasta dish over the week and used this awesome black olive fettuccine I had in the pantry, obviously you have to go Mediterranean with this one! I marinated shrimp and tossed the pasta with feta, sun dried tomatoes and black olives. It was pretty darn good! I had all of this left over Mediterranean goodness in my fridge and thought.. what will I make next?? Gyros??.. nah.. meatloaf??.. maybe another time… turkey burgers??.. YES! And there you have what I call a light bulb moment, my very own healthypassions original. It’s always fun to make your own recipe and I loved the way this one turned out. I am happy to share it with all of you and hope you make a successful meal out of it!

This recipe made about 3 large burgers, you can make 4 smaller sized ones or use an extra ½lb of meat to make 4 large burgers. Since my husband is on deployment I am trying to get used to cooking for 1, which still turns out to be enough for 2-3 people, but hey you can’t hate leftovers! These would be great on the grill, I don’t have one currently but if you do I would highly recommend it!

The first thing you want to do is make your tzatziki sauce, you can find that by clicking the direct link given here. This sauce is a definite must with these burgers (although I did try one without the sauce and they are still very good!) Let sit in the fridge for a few hours.

22df0ba2-a498-4342-a72a-183a41e7ca72 (1)

Next take a large bowl and mix all of your ingredients well. Try not to overmix and I would recommend using your hands to make any kind of burger or meatloaf, etc. It is the best way to mix and to tell if the ingredients are incorporated evenly.

038-15 (1)

Once mixed, form into burger patties. This is where you can choose how big or small you want them to be. Just remember they will shrink a little while cooking. They will cook longer the larger they are. Place on a non stick skillet, or grill pan if available. Cook your burgers trying to flip only once (this keeps the juices inside and prevents a dry burger). Mine took about 5-7 minutes on each side. You want to take it off the heat when a meat thermometer reaches 165°. I placed mine on a paper towel to soak up some excess grease.

045-13 (1)

If you don’t want to make the Tzatziki sauce (but really, why wouldn’t you?!), these taste great with some avacado and a sweet potato as a side dish! But, you should give the sauce a go, it’s simple and tastes great with the burgers.

036-17

Toast your pita bread, gently open the pocket and cut your burger lengthwise, carefully place your burger in the pocket with some feta cheese, spring mix, and tzatziki sauce. Go ahead and add some avocado on there too if there’s room! Or mash it up and make a spread. Personally, I like avocado with just about everything. Now all that’s left to do is feast on your scrumptious and juicy greek burger!

FYI bragging rights are included with the making of this recipe.

What you’ll need:
1lb ground turkey (1½lbs for 4 large burgers)
½ cup feta cheese crumbles (or in my case a handful)
5-6 sun dried tomatoes, diced(I recommend using the dry kind)
6-8 kalamata black olives, diced, make sure the brand is without pits (I recommend using a jar not a can)
1 tsp of the olive juice
A couple shakes of Worcestershire sauce
½ tbsp hamburger seasoning
½ tbsp cajun seasoning (a staple for every burger in my opinion!)
Whole Wheat Pita Bread
Spring Mix
Extra Feta to sprinkle on
Homemade Tzatziki Sauce

 

062-7

 

Leave a Reply

